Hi Vegetarians! The main purpose of this page coming up is to help new comers decide what should a PURE vegetarian eat in the US and more importantly, what not. In India, the country which I hail from, we have a very good system of demarcation between Vegetarian and non-Vegetarian eatables by making it mandatory to have a Green/ Red mark on the pack for indicating Pure Vegetarian or Non-vegetarian respectively. I could not find a similar system in the US, though there should have been one considering the number of people who are turning vegetarian everyday and the number of new vegetarians who come to the US to work / study / visit. 

If you are a normal Indian citizen(or of any other country, for that matter) coming here for one of the above purposes, most probably you'd be shocked to see in what all things people can manage to put non-vegetarian ingredients.